Human Services

    HS Front Page Photo

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Coventry Community Resource Center     (formerly Coventry Department of Human Services and Senior Center)

    Address: 50 Wood Street, Coventry RI 02816                                                                     

    Hours of operation:  Monday – Friday   8:30am – 4:30pm                                                             

    MAIN NUMBER:   401- 822-9175       FAX 401-822-9128      FAX 401-822-6211    

    Follow us on Facebook – Coventry Community Resource Center

    The Coventry Community Resource Center offers comprehensive services to all residents of the town of Coventry. Our staff, both professional and paraprofessional, provides directly or makes arrangements/referrals for the following services: outreach, information, support services, case management, socialization, recreation, education, health services, advocacy, transportation, volunteer opportunities, nutrition, and fitness.

    The center is a complex consisting of a reception area, coffee shop, gift shop, multi-purpose room, seminar & activity room, dining room, administration/social service offices, nursing office and billiards room. Project Friends, a state of Rhode Island licensed day program for adults with developmental disabilities, is housed in the Coventry Community Resource Center. 

    The senior portion of the center offers a Senior Nutrition Program known as the Café for those 60 and over or adults with disabilities.  Each Café offers at least two of the three meal choices daily. The “spa option”, for the health conscious, features lighter fare such as a main course salad.  The “pub option” offers a sandwich for those who want a traditional, wholesome lunch. And the “hearty option” provides a full, hot lunch for those who prefer their main meal at midday. Reservations are required.   Meals on Wheels is also coordinated and delivered on a daily basis through the center serving home bound individuals in need.

    Coventry Cares Volunteer Program offers a range of opportunities for people who want to help their fellow residents. In addition, the Coventry Community Food Bank located at 191 MacArthur Blvd., operates under the umbrella of the Coventry Community Resource Center.  The Coventry Community Garden, located in front of the Town Hall Annex on Flat River Road, provides produce to the Coventry Community Food Bank as well as volunteer opportunities for residents to assist with garden maintenance.

    We are looking forward to the construction of our new building in the near future which will allow us to offer additional services and programs to all residents.

     

    Click the links for more information -

     

    Staff Directory

    Director: Pat Shurtleff   822-9127   pshurtleff@coventryri.org

    Assistant Director: Catherine Pendola   822-9178   cpendola@coventryri.org

    Bookkeeper: Jomarie Fabian   822-9177   jfabian@coventryri.org

    Receptionist / Clerical Aide: Cheryl Seltzer   822-9175 / 822-9147

    Social Workers: Susan Pajak      822-9176   spajak@coventryri.org     Lynn Pendola   822-9125   lpendola@coventryri.org

    Social Worker Assistant: Stefani Weber    822-9146    sweber@coventryri.org                                                                                        

    Food Bank (191 MacArthur Blvd.)   822-9199

    Social Worker Assistant: Susan Leveillee   822-9152   sleveillee@coventryri.org                                        

    Mealsite/Café    822-9180

    Program Coordinator: Pat Fleming   822-9474   pfleming@coventryri.org

    Volunteer Coordinator: Christine Lantagne   822-9147   clantagne@coventryri.org

    Transportation: Jean Salemi    822-9175

    Project Friends Coordinator: Mary Ann Reynolds   822-6229 / 822-9144   mreynolds@coventryri.org

    Project Friends Assistant Coordinator: Brian Harrington   822-9144    bharrington@coventryri.org

    Maintenance: Al Jordan   822-9175

     

    Coventry Friends of Human Services Advisory Board:    Charles Bowen, Lynn Andrews, Charles Goss, Lois Tallman, Marilyn Nagy, Jean Salemi, Ernest Rusack, Carol Allin, William Morein